Overview    Programme    Attendees    Venue    Travel Info    Abstract Submission    Registration
PheroSys logo International Workshop on Dynamical Olfaction

30 June to 2 July, 2010, The Old Ship Hotel, Brighton, UK


Animals are able to experience complexly structured plumes of different combinations of chemicals as individual olfactory percepts. It appears that the olfactory system utilizes rich temporal dynamics to achieve this goal but exactly how is still an open challenge for modern neuroscience. In the last few years rapid progress has been made in our understanding of olfactory information processing.

In this focused workshop on Dynamical Olfaction we will share recent developments, both experimental and theoretical, between the active researchers in the field.

List of confirmed Keynote Speakers

Maxim Bazhenov
University of California Riverside, USA
C. Giovanni Galizia
University of Konstanz, Germany
Peter Kloppenburg
University of Köln
Hong Lei
The University of Arizona, USA
Johannes Reisert
Monell Chemical Senses Center, USA
Brian H. Smith
Arizona State University, USA
Mark Stopfer
National Institutes of Health, USA
Stephen Trowell
CSIRO, Australia
Massimo Vergassola
Institut Pasteur, Paris
Jan Wessnitzer
University of Edinburgh, UK

The workshop is financed by the BBSRC in the framework of the PheroSys project, part of the ANR-BBSRC SysBio initiative. Registration IS FREE OF CHARGE but mandatory for our planning.

Important Dates

Feb 16, 2010 First call for abstracts
Mar 15, 2010 Registration opens
Apr 15, 2010 Deadline for abstract submissions
Apr 30, 2010 EXTENDED deadline for abstract submissions
May 8, 2010 Abstract acceptance notifications
Jun 30, 2010 The workshop starts

Programme committee

Jean-Pierre Rospars
INRA Versailles
Dominique Martinez
LORIA Nancy & INRA Versailles
Thomas Nowotny
University of Sussex
Sylvia Anton
INRA Versailles


Christopher L. Buckley
University of Sussex
C.L.Buckley (at) sussex.ac.uk

financed by the BBSRC logo in the framework of the
PheroSys logo   project in the ANR logo / BBSRC logo SysBio Initiative.